X

Great War Remembrance Cyclo

14.09.2019

Pictures Sportograf

Sportograf

SPORTOGRAF.COM is the official photo service of the Great War Remembrance Cyclo. These photographers have acquired a good reputation in recent years with their fully digital service and competitive prizes.

In view of the fact that they themselves are active cyclists, they have an outstanding feeling from the perspective of the participant.

Find your pictures here!

The circuit

Commemorate the Great War from the saddle of your bicycle. The start and finish is Ypres, from where all distances first head off for Flanders Fields via the Menin Gate. You have a choice of 4 distances: 48, 83, 112 and 182 km.

If you opt for the 48 km circuit, you will pass by a number of historic locations such as the French cemetery; Saint Charles de Potyze, the Pool of Peace and Hill 60. As a final feat of arms, on every circuit there is a passage via Palingbeek, a challenging cobblestone stretch of 1.3 km in the woods. An extra challenge on the 83, 112 and 182 km circuits is the stretch in Hainaut, where the "Plugstreets" await you: semi-paved stretches that provide great spectacle for the pros in Gent-Wevelgem. The passage via Tyne Cot Cemetery, the largest British military cemetery on the European continent, and the Passchendaele Memorial Park will make the circuit even more unforgettable. Lovers of hills are best off opting for the 111 or 182 km circuits, because these circuits take in the Heuvelland in West Flanders. A hilly region with among other things a passage via the famous Kemmelberg, the highest hill in the Westhoek! The 182 km course starts at Ypres past the Yser Tower to the West Coast, with a supply point at the Westfront memorial in Nieuwpoort. With more than 800 metres of altitude and the treacherous Westhoek wind, it will be an impressive challenge.

The Great War Remembrance Cyclo is about more than just cycling, which is why we have included an overview of the main passages.

Discover the circuit

 

circuit Westfront Nieuwpoort

1 Westfront Nieuwpoort

For those who opt for the 182 km, we will stop for provisions at the Westfront memorial in Nieuwpoort. An imposing statue of King Albert I as a soldier provides an appropriate backdrop.

(circuit: 182 km)

circuit Tyne Cot Cemetery

2Tyne Cot Cemetery

Tyne Cot Cemetery is the largest British military cemetery on the European continent. A passage by this impressive war cemetery is a must on our circuit through the Westhoek. A staggering 11,900 British soldiers found their final resting place here. Make sure to pause briefly to try and comprehend the scale of the hostilities in 1914-'18.

(circuit: 83 km, 112 km, 182 km)

circuit Plugstreets

3Plugstreets

These semi-paved stretches, named after the British nickname for the Hainaut village of Ploegsteert ("Plugstreet"), always provide great spectacle in Gent-Wevelgem. At the entrance to the 2nd stretch we also find the Christmas Truce Monument that represents the symbolism of the Christmas truce in 1914. You can be one of the first to discover these unique roads by bicycle during the Great War Remembrance Cyclo.

(circuit: 83 km, 112 km, 182 km)

circuit Kemmelberg

5Kemmelberg

You can't talk about a Westhoek circuit without including the Kemmelberg. Of course this iconic element is part of our tour of Flanders Fields. Start limbering up your calf muscles because over its length of 500 metres the Kemmelberg has inclines that average 11.6% with a few of them reaching as much as 22%!

(circuit: 112 km, 182 km)

circuit Palingbeek

3 Palingbeek

This challenging stretch of cobblestones of 1.3 km between the trees is sure to be a spectacular addition to the Great War Remembrance Cyclo. In addition to the sporting element, the ComingWorldRememberMe work of art can also be found nearby, a land art installation that gives the victims of WWI a definitive place in our past, our present and our future. Absolutely worth a visit!

(circuit: 48 km, 83 km, 112 km, 182 km)

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Etixx Sports Nutrition

To support you optimally during the selection of your most appropriate nutrition to help energy levels, hydration, muscle increase, recuperation,... before, during and after training and in the lead-up to a race, please have a look here.

Etixx voedingsschema

Don't forget: a good preparation is half the battle! GOOD LUCK!

CHARITY: VZW STOP DARMKANKER

VZW Stop Darmkanker

 

Vzw Stop Darmkanker is a young, dynamic and independent ngo with the following motto: sharing knowledge can save lives.

Stop Darmkanker is a non-profit organisation that wishes to convince people that an early detection of colorectal cancer and bowel polyps will decrease the mortality rate by colorectal cancer drastically. Colorectal cancer is a silent killer. Darmkanker is een sluipmoordenaar.

Every year more than 8.500 Belgians are diagnosed with colorectal cancer. Every day, nine people die from this disease. Colorectal cancer is the second most common type of cancer for women and the third most common for men. If colorectal cancer is detected in an early stage, people have more than 90% chance to be cured. But the knowledge about colorectal cancer is unsatisfactory. More funds are needed to fight this disease.

And your contribution can be life-saving. While signing up you have the possibility to donate 5, 10 or 15 euro to vzw Stop Darmkanker.

More information on www.stopdarmkanker.be

Contact

We are very much interested in how you have experienced our event. Please send us your remarks, reactions or ideas. We would love to hear from you.

ORGANISATION & PRESS

Peloton
Ottergemsesteenweg Zuid 808
9000 Gent
Belgium
Peloton

X

Great War Remembrance Cyclo

14.09.2019

Compte rendu Photos Service photo

Participation record à la Great War Remembrance Cyclo

La Great War Remembrance Cyclo, comptant pour l'Etixx Classics Tour, a eu lieu samedi dans le Westhoek. Mille six cents participants étaient au départ.

Plus d'infos

Service photo

Sportograf.com est le service photo officiel du Great War Remembrance Cyclo. Ces photographes se sont forgés une belle réputation auprès des participants ces dernières années grâce à leur service entièrement digitalisé et leurs prix abordables.

Rechercher vos photos!

PARCOURS

Commémorez la Grande Guerre en faisant du vélo. Avec départ et arrivée à Ypres, vous partirez à la découverte des Flanders Fields en passant par la Porte de Menin. Vous avez le choix entre 4 distances : 48, 83, 112 et 182 km.

Si vous optez pour la course de 48 km, vous découvrirez plusieurs lieux historiques tels que le cimetière français Saint-Charles de Potyze, l'Étang de la Paix et la colline 60. Le Palingbeek, un secteur pavé ardu long de 1,3 km fera office de juge de paix sur chaque parcours. Les participants aux randonnées de 83, 112 et 182 km devront faire face à un défi supplémentaire, avec le passage dans le Hainaut où les " Plugstreets " vous attendent : des pentes à moitié goudronnées qui assurent le spectacle à Gand-Wevelgem. Le passage au Tyne Cot Cemetery, le plus grand cimetière militaire britannique en Europe, et au Paschendale Memorial Park rendront votre randonnée inoubliable. Les amateurs de bosses choisiront plutôt les parcours de 112 ou de 182 km afin d'explorer le Heuvelland, en Flandre occidentale. Une région très bosselée avec en point d'orgue, un passage sur le fameux mont Kemmel, le point culminant du Westhoek ! Le parcours de 182 km commence à Ypres vers la Côte en passant par la Tour de l'Yser, avec un ravitaillement au Westfront Nieuwpoort. Avec plus de 800 mètres de dénivelé et le redoutable vent du Westhoek, le défi sera de taille.

La Great War Remembrance Cyclo, c'est bien plus que du cyclisme. Nous avons répertorié ci-dessous les passages les plus importants.

Découvrir le parcours!

 

Parcours Westfront Nieuwpoort

1 Westfront Nieuwpoort

Si vous optez pour les 182 km, vous ferez arrêt au Westfront Nieuwpoort pour un ravitaillement. L'imposante statue du roi Albert Ier offrira un décor de choix.

(parcours: 182 km)

Parcours Tyne Cot Cemetery

2Tyne Cot Cemetery

Le Tyne Cot Cemetery est le plus grand cimetière militaire britannique d'Europe. Vous n'oublierez jamais votre passage près de cet impressionnant cimetière dans votre périple à travers le Westhoek. 11 900 soldats britanniques y sont enterrés. Faites-y halte afin de saisir l'ampleur des violences de la guerre 14-18.

(parcours: 83 km, 112 km, 182 km)

Parcours Plugstreets

3Plugstreets

Ces ascensions à moitié goudronnés, nommées d'après le nom anglais du village hennuyer de Ploegsteert, sont le théâtre d'intenses luttes lors de Gand-Wevelgem. À l'entrée de la 2e ascension, le Christmas Truce Monument nous remémore la Trêve de Noël de 1914. Vous aurez la chance de découvrir ces routes uniques à vélo lors de la Great War Remembrance Cyclo.

(parcours: 83 km, 112 km, 182 km)

Parcours Kemmelberg

5 Mont Kemmel

Qui dit course dans le Westhoek dit forcément mont Kemmel. Cette icône était une évidence dans notre parcours à travers les Flanders Fields. Échauffez-vous déjà, car le mont Kemmel vous attend, avec ses 500 mètres de longueur et son pourcentage moyen de 11,6 % avec des pointes à 22 % !

(parcours: 112 km, 182 km)

Parcours Palingbeek

3 Palingbeek

Ce secteur pavé ardu long de 1,3 km et situé au milieu des arbres assurera le spectacle. Après le sport, vous pourrez profiter du ComingWorldRememberMe, une oeuvre de land art offrant une place toute particulière dans notre Histoire, notre présent et notre avenir aux victimes de la Première Guerre mondiale. N'hésitez pas à y jeter un oeil !

(parcours: 48 km, 83 km, 112 km, 182 km)

Peloton Cycling Team

Allez-vous devenir notre leader ?

La Peloton Cycling Team réunit des cyclistes passionnés comme vous afin de profiter de ce que vous aimez le plus, votre vélo de course !

Rien de tel que de pédaler en force, grimper, découvrir de nouvelles routes, souffrir et en profiter ensuite tous ensemble. Le rythme et la vitesse ne sont que secondaires, l'important est de s'amuser.

Faites-vous emmener ou bien prenez la tête des opérations, et intégrez notre club cycliste

Inscrivez-vous à notre Peloton ici

Etixx Sports Nutrition

Pour vous aider de manière optimale dans la sélection de la nutrition sportive la plus approprié pour promouvoir la production d'énergie, l'hydratation, la musculation, la récupération ... avant, pendant et après l'entraînement et dans la perspective d'une compétition, vous devriez jeter un coup d'oeil ici.

Etixx Fuels

Assurez-vous d'également visiter l'une des pharmacies partenaires d'Etixx pour choisir les bons produits.

Ne l'oubliez pas : une bonne préparation est une demi-victoire ! BONNE CHANCE !

BONNE CAUSE: ASBL STOP CANCER COLON

VZW Stop Darmkanker

 

L'asbl Stop Cancer Colon est un jeune, dynamique et indépendent ONG comme leitmotiv: Partagez la connaissance permet de sauver des vies.

Ce groupe d'action poursuit l'objectif d'informer et de sensibiliser toute la population sur un message simple : le dépistage précoce de polypes et de cancer du côlon fait baisser de façon drastique la mortalité. Le cancer du côlon est un assassin silencieux.

Chaque année, le diagnostic du cancer du côlon tombe pour plus de 8 500 Belges. Environ 9 personnes en meurent chaque jour. Le cancer du côlon est le deuxième cancer le plus fréquent chez les femmes et le troisième chez les hommes. Le patient a plus de 90% de chances de guérir complètement si on le trouve dans un stade I.

Les connaissances du grand public sur ce tueur silencieux sont loin d'être satisfaisantes. Des ressources supplémentaires sont nécessaires pour combattre la maladie.

Votre contribution peut sauver des vies ! Avec votre inscription, vous avez la possibilité de faire un don de 5,10 ou 15 € pour l'asbl Stop Cancer Colon.

Plus d'info : www.stopdarmkanker.be/stop-cancer-colon/

Contact

Les organisateurs souhaitent avoir votre avis concernant l'événement. Ils apprécient vos remarques, vos réactions et vos idées. Remplissez le formulaire ci-dessous. N'hésitez pas à réagir.

ORGANISATION & PRESSE

Peloton
Ottergemsesteenweg Zuid 808
9000 Gent
Belgique
Peloton